I love my job, really!

I love my job.  I really do.  I really love my job!  I wouldn’t do it if I didn’t.  However, there are parts of my job that I do not love.  Calculating quantities is one of them.  Checking quantity calcs is another.  But, hey, you gotta do the crappy stuff to get to the good stuff, right?  Like storm sewer schedules.  I could get into a storm sewer schedule and be in high heaven for most of the day… but, I digress!

Quantity calcs, or take-offs, or whatever you want to call them, are a necessary evil.  Unfortunately, the contractor needs SOME idea of how much pavement or earthwork or pipe that they will need when bidding a project.  I wish I could just say, “Hey, go out there and build it, and whatever it takes is whatever it takes.  And bring me a Diet Dr. Pepper while you’re at it!”  But no, we live in the real world of responsible engineering, which means I have to be nice and give an estimate of quantities.

Leave a Reply

