Hello world!

So, I’ve never written a blog before.  I’m not even quite sure what a blog is… but I am going to try.  🙂  Here’s a bit about myself:

I’m 35 years old.  <— GOSH!!  When did that happen?  I’m a practicing professional engineer in the civil engineering community in Wichita, KS.  I am a woman, a wife, a mother, a community activist.  I love doing what I do, and would love to share it with the world!

Why this?  I’ve been looking for a place to share my thoughts and ideas, and haven’t found the right spot, so why not make one?  I want to share what I do every day with people who may be thinking about going into engineering.  I have funny stories to share (I think so, at least).  I want to enlighten the younger generation as to what a civil engineer does.

My background: I grew up in a small town in Eastern Kansas.  My family was not wealthy, but we had what we needed.  I excelled in math and science in high school, and decided I wanted to study Civil Engineering at Kansas State University.  The fact that I didn’t exactly know what a civil engineer did never crossed my mind.  I had my ups and downs in college and FINALLY graduated 5 years later.  I haven’t looked back since!  My life has not been textbook, but I love where I’m at and how I got here.

Tata for now!!

Leave a Reply

